Scenes from the Manhattan Cocktail Classic – Friday/Saturday

It’s been a crazy couple of days here at the Manhattan Cocktail Classic, so I’ll let the photos do the talking:
 

Friday Night  – Gala

I couldn’t fit a camera in my teeny vintage purse. The following 3 photos are courtesy of belathee.com.

MCC  signage inside the New York Public Library 

 

This shot-sized drink was made with gin, chamomile tea, and raspberries, and was garnished with a rose petal.

 
 

  Adam Seger, looking fab as usual.  

Saturday: MCC Seminars

For me, the big highlight of the day was my “Whiskey Is The New Black” seminar. I was pretty much consumed with making sure all went well behind the scenes, so I didn’t take many photos. (I’ll save my tales about panic over the whiskey that almost didn’t show, transporting 15 pounds of cheese for whiskey/cheese pairings, and the supreme awesomeness of my panelists – Michter’s distiller Willie Pratt and mixologist Jason Asher – for another day). The couple of snaps I managed were taken “backstage” in the kitchen area, and were taken hastily with my cellphone. I’m a little embarrassed to have them on the same page as professional-quality photos, but they do more or less reflect the hurried quality of my day.

Oranges roasting on the stovetop – I think these were intended for the Italian Aperitivi seminar, as Negroni garnishes.
 
 The amazing sideboard of ingredients for the volunteer mixologists to use in batching the hundreds (thousands?) of drinks being served in seminars.
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scenes from the Manhattan Cocktail Classic – Friday/Saturday

  1. Yo Kara!

    Looks like a great way to spend a couple of days. As far as the quality of the photos, don’t sweat it. Capturing the image is the most important thing.

    Thanks for the behind the scenes tour!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. I so plan to be there next year.

Leave a Reply

