Tequila tasting/tequila party photo

What do friendly, sociable people do when presented with too many bottles of tequila? They throw a party, of course!

Our gracious hosts, Jeff & Mike

I haven’t talked about this yet on the blog, but I’ve recently taken on the role of Spirits Reviewer for Wine Enthusiast magazine, where I’ve been a longtime contributor. So, far this gig seems to entail: 1) receive far too many bottles of whatever spirit I’m reviewing that month 2) sample said spirit 3) render (hopefully useful) opinion. Seriously, some days I can’t believe I get paid to do what has to be one of the best jobs in the world.

But what do I do with those extra bottles after I’ve turned in my ratings? Mostly, I give them away to my office-mates, who have all developed some kind of eerie alcohol-radar that alerts them to the presence of free booze from 20 feet away.

But travel and wine writers Mike DeSimone and Jeff Jenssen (aka the “World Wine Guys“) went a few steps further after they completed their tequila/travel article for Wine Enthusiast. They not only threw a great party with their tequila spoils, they also treated their guests to an impromptu tequila class and guided tasting, educating all of us on how tequila is made, various ages, etc., and encouraged us to taste through various brands and varieties (the group favorite seemed to be Corzo anejo).

And of course, that segued right into a tequila party, with pitchers of Margaritas, Palomas, and other great tequila libations. 

Thanks again for a great party, guys!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tequila tasting/tequila party photo

  1. Pingback: Why some spirits bottles fly off the shelf and others just sit there | Spice & Ice, and more…

Leave a Reply

