Tuaca’s Shots of Inspired Madness

Usually, I try to avoid writing about spirits brands on this blog. But sometimes, there’s a really compelling reason to do just that. Last week, a compelling reason in a box landed on my doorstep:  a big box from Tuaca.

If you’ve never tried Tuaca before, it’s good stuff – a nice little dessert-y liqueur with a vanilla-orange glow, which goes well in fall and winter drinks. I even mentioned them in my book (p. 147, the “Hot Lips Choco-Tini”). But I’m not writing about my book today. Instead, I’d like to share with you some recipes that arrived in a little booklet supplied by Tuaca.  

But first, a little context. About two years ago, the Washington Post ran this article about the Growing Rage for Jagermeister-style shots of Tuaca. This is something I’ve never witnessed myself, but I don’t hang out in college bars much anymore. I have no proof, but I’m convinced that I can draw a straight line from that article about Tuaca shots to the drinks below. I love these drinks. They surely have an element of madnes, but it’s an inspired madness. The tagline:  “Unique drinks that truly go beyond the usual.” It makes me happy that these drinks exist.

All photos below kindly provided by Tuaca. I haven’t tried out any of these drinks first-hand.

Teriyaki Tuaci

1 1/2 oz. Tuaca

dash of soy sauce

pickled ginger

Shake Tuaca and soy sauce with ice and strain into a shot glass. Sip Tuaca, then take a bite of pickled ginger.

Tuaca Hot Chocolate

1 1/2 oz Tuaca

2 dashes hot sauce

1 bar spoon chocolate syrup

chile pepper

Drizzle chocolate syrup into a shot glass. Shake Tuaca and hot sauce with ice and strain over syrup. Garnish with a chile pepper.

Tuaca Italian Sausage

1 oz Tuaca

smoked sausage

Chill Tuaca and serve with a piece of smoked sausage. For a more adventurous option, cut sausage into sections and hollow out to create a well. Fill with Tuaca. Sip Tuaca and finish with a bite of smoked sausage.

Tuaca Steak Dinner

1 1/2 oz Tuaca

1/2 oz lime juice

lemon wedge

worcestershire sauce

Shake Tuaca and lime juice vigorously with ice and strain nto a shot glass. Sprinkle the lemon wedge with a few drops of worcestershire sauce. Sip Tuaca and bite into lemon.

Leave a Reply

