What too much tequila looks like (a photo essay of my life)

Ever wonder what a spirits writer actually does?  This is my life. Welcome…. try not to get too sticky while you’re here!

This is a photo of what my office looked like last week.

What’s in those bottles, you may ask? Tequila. To be absolutely specific, those bottles encompassed:

  • 25 bottles of blanco tequila
  • 24 bottles of reposado tequila
  • 21 bottles of anejo tequila
  • 2 bottles of “extra anejo” tequila
  • 2 bottles of blended tequila (reposado, anejo, and extra anejo together)

Yep, that’s a grand total of 74 bottles of tequila. Here’s another photo:

 

Seventy-four bottles of tequila.

Yes, I tried Every. Last. Bottle. 

No, I did not do that in one sitting. I did a few at a time, over the course of a month. I also wrote tasting notes for each, and assigned each a rating.

Usually, I receive 20 to 30 samples to evaluate for a spirits column. And actually, these photos represent roughly 30 or so brands. But in triplicate! And there are still more tequilas out in the tequila-verse that I did not get to try.  Here’s a final photo:

 

I’m not quite sure why I felt the need to take an aerial shot of the bottles.

So what are those little purple stickers on top of the caps? It doesn’t indicate a good or bad product; it’s just how I flag for myself that I’ve already sampled that bottle. Looks like some of the flags have fallen off. I use miniature Post-Its. Hmm, I really should think about buying stock in 3M.

10 thoughts on “What too much tequila looks like (a photo essay of my life)

  1. I was joking with some other writers in a similar situation about forming a support group, want to join?
    It’s NOT about the drinking, it’s the” I want your job !”, “You drink for a living, How can I do that?!” etc., etc., remarks that were getting to us , and trying to explain that it does, indeed, involve work not just some non stop party.

  2. Pingback: Why some spirits bottles fly off the shelf and others just sit there | Spice & Ice, and more…

  3. Pingback: 5 Things I’ve Learned About…London Dry Gin | Spice & Ice, and more…

  4. Pingback: 5 Things I’ve Learned About…Tequila | Spice & Ice, and more…

  5. Pingback: Nine Utterly Gorgeous Tequila Bottles | Tipple Sheet

  6. Pingback: 4 things I’ve learned about…Reposado Tequila | Tipple Sheet

  7. I learned very quickly; one does not want to drink toooo much tequila; too often! It will kick butt and leave a print on your brain. eckw. Jax

    • I agree – moderation is key! I would have been very sorry indeed if I’d guzzled all that tequila down. But a few well-chosen sips can be heavenly.

Leave a Reply

