IACP winner!

iacpI was pretty darn excited to learn that I’d been named a finalist for the Bert Greene Award in the “Writing About Beverages” category, a prestigious award given by the International Association of Culinary Professionals.

And I really didn’t think I had a shot at winning. This is not false modesty — I truly thought that the biggest name in the category was likely to be the one to take it all home.  When I flew out to San Francisco to attend the conference, I tried not to think about it. During the conference, I was so immersed in planning my “Fountain of Vermouth” panel and the general intensity of meeting and greeting, so it was really easy to forget about the awards. And then Tuesday night arrived, and I gamely put on my little black dress and expected to clap for the other guy, like a good sport.

And then they called my name. In fact, it turned out to be a tie! In the end, the scores meant that Seattle Weekly’s Mike Seely and I both won. I loved his piece (Murray Stenson’s Accidental Tourists), so I’m happy to share this honor with him. I was just sorry that he wasn’t there to celebrate with me over a drink – guess I’ll just have to take a raincheck.

2 thoughts on “IACP winner!

Leave a Reply

